Message sent from:

Parent Governor Vacancies

Our current parent governors have reached the end of their term of office, so we are looking for two new governors. The governing body is asking you to nominate someone with parental responsibility for a child here at Baguley Hall. You may also nominate yourself. If more than one nomination is received, then a ballot will be held. 

The governing body is responsible for both the conduct of the school and for promoting high standards. It carries out its role by working with the Headteacher in setting the vision for the school and then ensuring that the school works efficiently and effectively towards this goal. Governors are involved in important decisions about staffing, budget and premises and of course student achievement and support. They take a very keen interest in how school promotes high standards. Governors support the Headteacher and the Leadership team as they lead the school.

Governors do not need to be experts in the field of education. What they do need is an interest in the school and in the welfare of our children and the time and willingness to get involved. As a parent governor, your role would be to bring a parent’s perspective to the running of the governing body.

At the moment the governing body is lacking governors who have expertise in Financial Management, HR and Health and Safety.  If you are someone with this expertise, we would love you to apply.

Governors also need what are known as ‘soft skills’ – the ability to be able to build relationships with a range of people, to be able to work as part of a team, to be able to question, and to make connections between different types of information. All governors are expected to be able to read straightforward budget reports, school policies and data on school standards.

In terms of your time, the expectation would be that you

  • Attend 3 termly meetings of the full governing body
  • sit on 1 committee and attend the meetings which are usually 1 a term
  • visit the school formally for monitoring purposes at least 2 times a year
  • visit the school informally as often as you can
  • commit to attend training courses, perform additional research as required and take part in monitoring one area within the school
  • read all supplied governing body papers in advance of the meetings

In return, our governing body commits to

  • provide you with a structured induction
  • provide access to quality training.
  • provide you with an experienced governor as mentor
  • provide informal feedback on your contribution to the governing body. on a bi-annual basis

You would also be required to sign the Governors code of conduct and apply for a DBS enhanced disclosure.

What do you need to do next?

Below are the nomination papers.  The nomination period will open at 9am on Wednesday 11th  November and close at 12pm on Wednesday 25th November. If more than two nominations are received, a ballot will be held.

If you would like to know more about the role of a Parent Governor please contact the Clerk to the Governors, via the email address admin@baguleyhall.manchester.sch.uk

The Governing Body

Governor details 2020-21


Name  Designation Committee Membership Voting rights Link Governor Date of Appointment End of term Pecuniary interests
Michael Allison Partnership R - Chair Yes Pupil Premium 15/07/2019 15/07/2023 None
Kate Bulman Headteacher S, R Yes LAC 22/03/2023 N/A None
Vicky Cook Staff S Yes   12/12/2016 12/12/2020 None
Donna Cunneen Parent  S Yes Literacy 15/07/2019 15/07/2020 None
Anne-Marie Dorsey SBM No   22/03/2015 N/A None
Katie McDwyer  Local Authority R Yes Safeguarding  01/12/2017 30/11/2021 None
Clair Goulding Deputy Headteacher S No   22/03/2015 N/A None
Laura Lodge Co-opted S Yes Literacy 01/09/2018 01/09/2022 None
Peter Renshaw Co opted Vice Chair of Governors S, R  Yes GDPR 26/03/2018 26/03/2022 None
Emma Small Parent R Yes   19/10/2020 19/10/2024 None
Carol Steedman Partnership,  Chair of Governors P, S, R Yes Attendance  22/03/2015 22/03/2023 None
Qazim Zaffar Co opted R Yes Finance 24/06/2019 24/06/2023 None




Hit enter to search